Poem: Normal Love

Posted: August 12, 2015 in Inspirational Poetry
Tags: , , ,

fixing_a_broken_heart__by_nonnetta

Normal Love

I thought my life was normal.
Caught up in my own farce,
I thought it was what
all the other couples did.
I knew no other way.

I let you let me cry.
I thought it was okay,
to feel like you wanted to die.

I saw others’ happiness…
I secretly watched that other guy,
lovingly caress
her face.
I thought it was all play,
not real.

In my world,
Love would not allow you
to feel.

Years of fighting an unruly heart,
While I allowed you to tear it apart,
and I never got to put it back together
EACH time.

I thought it was normal,
to feel so broken.

One late evening,
feeling so incredibly alone…
I had a recognition.

My heart cried out for life.
It begged to be realized.
It asked, that I run away
from the inflicting knife.

It beat at the thoughts
that were crushing in my my mind.
My heart,
plead for life.

With eyes wide open,
it asked me to go
and live.

To feel and love.

and so…
I DID.

Ariana R. Cherry 2015

Follow Ariana on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/TheRuralFreelanceWriter?fref=ts

Comments

Leave a Reply

