Testing your faith in life when others let you down.

Posted: April 7, 2016 in Life on pause, Web Content
Tags: , , , , , , ,

PAUSE

It always feels good to be a part of something -especially if that something has been a big part of your life-whether it be belonging to a particular group or organization or a church…. But when it’s been a major part of your life from childhood and it lets you down- that is when your faith is tested…. And you start questioning the real motives of people and question – “Have they lost their way..?”

Something similar happened recently and I’ve really begun to think about the entire situation and it seriously disturbs me. I know in order for organizations to stay running, money needs to be collecting to pay for specific operating costs… When money gets tight, people tend to become desperate – and perhaps lose their way….

What disturbed me was this organization started finding ways to”dispose” of people by making it still seem or feel legit to them… Some of these people included my own family members.

Again- I understand that money is needed for operating costs and such – but when a family doesn’t have the money to give at the time (especially because of unemployment, disability or illness), why punish them? … Some of my family’s “membership” was swiftly taken away because they weren’t giving enough…

This was a place of worship. A place that I had been a part of since I was a child. I was also quickly disposed of after helping them out for nearly two years after the last pastor retired. I was used for my skills, and then without much warning – was told I wasn’t needed anymore since a new pastor had been hired..I understand that- but the pastor was only on contract for a year and I was planning on helping him out. And when I questioned if I would still be creating newsletters or bulletins- they said he would just be submitting things- which let me believe, I would still be coming in.

What made me specifically annoyed, was that they tried to put it off as if it were my problem that I wouldn’t be helping anymore – which wasn’t true at all – but it made it them not look like “the bad guys.” A few people from the place have been making comments of how I had been attending another place of worship from time to time. I almost felt as if they were holding this against me….In a way- I am waiting to see if my “membership” will be taken away in some type of way too…

This is why religion bothers me sometimes. You find a church “family” and it becomes a part of your life. You create relationships and form bonds. In my opinion, if it were a true family, you wouldn’t be “kicked out,”because you didn’t fit their needs anymore. A family should be there for you, no matter what…

I feel that some churches give you an ultimatam.And those are the types of churches that give others a bad name. When money gets the best of people, it is like it turns them into another person – and greed begins to rule their hearts… Somehow, I don’t think Jesus would have turned people away because they didn’t have money…

Often, I almost wonder if my “church” is still out in the woods close to nature. That is where I usually feel God the strongest… In the peace of the trees, flowers, a sunrise, sunset or by a body of water. When I am in nature, I hear the words of my heart… and nobody can turn me away from that type of peace…

In the end, I still feel that it always seems to be people who will let you down… no matter the cost… It is really hard to find true honest people in this day when money has become such a ruling factor…

Leave a Reply

