The literal pains in life…

Posted: May 16, 2017 in Life on pause, Random Questions/Writings, This & That
Tags: , , , ,

fever-310721_960_720

 

Every now and then, we all experience pains…and this time – I am talking literal…not figurative for once.

I like to think I am still relatively young but I am certainly not getting any younger-which I find that hard to accept at times… I am young at heart and plan to stay that way – even though many have told me I am like an old soul too..

I’ve been in pain for almost two weeks over something I guess the doctors can’t seem to figure out. Two Fridays ago, I went to a nearby walk-in clinic after experiencing some really bad pains in my right side…. The doctor there told me it was possibly a UTI ….and then appendicitis…then she said she didn’t know “what the hell it was,” but go to the ER. So then, I went to the ER.

At the ER, they said it was not appendicitis. After being there for 4 hours, taking blood tests, doing a CT scan, being given fluids and pain medicine, they sent me home diagnosing me with a bladder infection…

A few days later, I still wasn’t feeling better- even after taking antibiotics. Then I had an appointment with my primary doctor. She stated that there were ovarian cysts that were found during my CT scan (which the ER failed to tell me). My dr told me to stop taking the antibiotics – that I did not have a bladder infection. She prescribed some pain medicine and scheduled for me to have an ultrasound to look at the cysts…

Today, I received  a phone call from my dr.’s office… They told me that I did not have ovarian cysts and everything looked fine. I told them I was still in pain – even after trying to go off the pain meds…Without the pain meds, I end up in such excruciating pain that I even find it difficult to walk. So they said they would speak with my doctor and call me back.

Later this afternoon, I got a phone call. I am told that I might have Interstitial cystitis- inflammation of the bladder- (http://www.webmd.com/urinary-incontinence-oab/interstitial-cystitis). Seems that is difficult to diagnose and treat …..They said they would set me up an appointment with a urologist.

Meanwhile, I log into my patient portal of my hospital where we can read results of tests, see drug allergies, pay our bills, etc. On the radiology report of my ultrasound – it read that there were cysts found on my left ovary – AFTER my doctor’s office told me the ultrasound was CLEAR!

So now, I am even more confused. I will be calling my doctor in the next day to find out why my radiology report read something different from what they told me…

I’ve been in pain for almost 2 weeks, and still have not really been given a definite answer. I really don’t want to have to rely on pain medicines to function every day either… All I know is that I haven’t felt the same or much like myself… I get tired easily and find myself having to take pills throughout the day so that I don’t end up to the point to where I can’t even walk….

I guess all I can do for now is take it easy, be patient and pray that someone will figure out what this mystery is that is causing all this pain…

Normally, I am not one to complain and try to wait it out and see if it will clear up by itself…but this time, whatever it is, has interrupted my life…I kept waiting for it to go away, but it just got worse….Perhaps this is a lesson for me – not to wait so long next time….

Sometimes the pains in our lives – the literal ones…can really be a wake up call –to take things slow, and take it easy…. and BE PATIENT. 

 

Leave a Reply

